Je suis une lectrice.

Chatty post | Authors I would like to read everything they have written.

Once I find an author I like, I tend to become quite faithful to them and so far, there are several authors from whom I want to read everything they’ve ever written/will write. I’m doing a good job with Patricia Briggs (please check the Reviews page) already, no book she has written that I’ve not read yet. I’m on my way to do the same with Victoria Schwab, I’ve bought most of her books (need to buy Our Dark Duet). Also, I just can’t wait for Deborah Harkness‘s new book, it’s going to be amazing, just like everything she writes. I’m also going to mention Diane Setterfield, since The Thirteenth Tale is the book I suggest when people ask me for the one book that surprised you: if you love a good 19th century atmosphere, old secondhand bookshop, dark and mysterious Yorkshire house, families secret and beautiful writing-style, then go for it.

English Literature:
William Shakespeare | I have a weird relationship with Shakespeare. It frustrates me that me being french is such an obstacle to have access to his word (his English is sooo complicated for me really) and also, I don’t really care about his stories or his characters? But I LOVE his writing, I could listen to my teachers reading it for hours and I could study it for days. So, yeah, definitely one that I want to read everything of.
Charles Dickens | It’s one of these authors I knew I was going to love even though I hadn’t read anything by him yet, if that makes any sense… and then I’ve read A Christmas Carol and Oliver Twist and loved them so much I’ve since started collecting his whole work.
Charlotte Brontë | I can actually say Jane Eyre helped me move on from the most traumatic time of my life: discovering I was diabetic. I often tell myself that without Jane’s incredible example of bravery I would have achieved doing what I tended to do in dark moments of my life.
Jane Austen | Sounds cliché, I know but everyone needs Austen’s sassiness once in a while. I loved her most famous work but I fell in love even more when I read her Northanger Abbey (even more so that I had read the novel she is mocking/imitating and I hated it). Also, Mansfield Park was beautiful.
Daphné du Maurier | Even though I own two of her books already (Rebecca, The Birds and other stories), I still haven’t read anything by her but just like Dickens, I know I’m going to love her work, so yeah.
Agatha Christie | I have this weird obsession with this author. Mom had these beautiful anthologies of her work and I fell in love with those characters. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd and And Then They Were None are two masterpieces let me tell you. Also, the chunk of a book that was her autobiography was SO entertaining, how can someone be that much fascinating?
Roald Dahl | Do I really have to explain this? This author is amazing, he’s just got the most incredible imagination and his characters are so relatable and there’s a sense of warm when you read his work. Honestly, I’ve read most of his work when I was really young and it just stuck with me really clearly somehow.

American Literature:
Toni Morrison | I’ve read Beloved, Home, A Mercy… and I’ve cried everytime and it felt like being slapped in the face everytime. It puts all your white people-priviledges in front of your face and it hurts so freaking much but it is so important, it is so beautifully beautifully beautifully written (yes, it deserved even more adjectives). Please read this author, please and give me everything by her.

French Literature:
George Sand | I’ve read three books by her and I enjoyed the gentleness that comes from it, a warm feeling that you feel wrapped up in while reading. Also, she knows how to be sassy and I’m always up for that.
Albert Camus | I’ve read two books by him (The Plague, The Outsider) and I honestly don’t know how to talk about this author. It’s just wonderfully well written, smart and beautiful and sad and yeah, I want to read everything please (as for what I have in my tbr: Caligula and The Misunderstanding, The Myth of Sisyphus).

Spanish Literature:
Carlos Ruiz Zafon | I’m on track, obviously, except for his new book El Labirinto de los Espiritus but it hasn’t been translated yet so not my fault. If you haven’t read anything by him, what are you waiting for, really? I LOVE HIS WRITING-STYLE (gotta scream sorry), I love his characters (dark, bad, very much imperfect), I love the atmosphere of his novel (in-between world wars period, destroyed/haunted/dark/foggy cities and secondhand bookshops- yes please). I love, love, love this man, ok?

Italian Literature:
Umberto Eco | Please take the time to go on youtube and watch his incredible bookshelves, the man had 50K books, he was such a scholar, he is the most fascinating figure of contemporary times and I cried when he passed away… even though I haven’t read anything by him yet -except for De Biblioteca, a transcription of one of his speeches in which he stands for making the libraries more accessible to people. I think I own four books by him but I’m definitely going to need to have a shelf only for his work.

Je suis une grande bavarde, si vous aimez papoter aussi, dîtes-moi ce que en avez pensé de votre côté, par ici !

